Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Call for 2012 Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards due

Nominations are due no later than February 15, 2012
For more information look for the link in "news" at....

About the Awards
Innovation, resourcefulness, leadership and a commitment to balancing the human use of America’s coastal and ocean resources with the needs of the resources themselves - these are the hallmarks of the Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards.

The Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) of 1972 created a unique and voluntary partnership of federal and state governments to provide a balance between land and water uses and resource conservation along America’s 95,000 miles of coastlines, including the Great Lakes. In 1990, as part of the reauthorization of the CZMA, the late Congressman Walter B. Jones provided NOAA with the authority to honor the people and organizations of America for their dedication and outstanding contributions in helping the nation maintain healthy coastal and ocean resources and balance the needs of these resources with human use. At that time, Congressman Jones identified three award categories as particularly important–

Excellence in Coastal and Marine Graduate Study - recognizes graduate students whose academic study promises to contribute materially to the development of new or improved approaches to coastal or ocean management. Up to ten winners may be selected in 2012.

Coastal Steward of the Year - honors an individual who has exemplified strong, sustained leadership in finding a balance between the human uses of the coast and ocean and the needs of that environment.

Excellence in Local Government - given to local governments that have inspired positive change in the field of coastal management by developing or implementing principles embodied by the CZMA. Up to five winners may be selected in 2012.

The awards program is open to individuals, organizations, and state and local government agencies and their employees. Individuals, organizations and agencies cannot nominate themselves; they must be nominated by others. Candidates can receive an award in a category only once. For a list of previous winners, please visit Federal employees and officials are not eligible for the Walter B. Jones Memorial Awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment